Just when you would think that Hayakawa has taught me enough you are wrong. Later in Chapter 2, he discusses the differences between Maps and Territories. You are probably asking yourself "Terrence, what is the point of knowing this?" I understand where you are coming from and I thought the same until Mrs. Fassbender explained it to us. Maps are the representation while Territories is the reality. My friends Jack and Taran have given me ideas of what to expect at a college out of state which is a Map because it is a representation. For me to go to one of their schools and experience it, I would have a territory of my own since it is the reality. Understanding these concepts is necessary to understand symbols.

Picture
http://world-visits.blogspot.com/2013/09/elafonisi-beach-wonderful-place-for-trip.html



Leave a Reply.